Summarized  History of Bijapur
What was formerly known as Bijapur is called Vijayapur today.Bijapur city is well known for its historical monuments and their architectural importance especially the monuments built during the Adil Shahi Dynasty.

Chalukyas of Kalyani established this ancient township in 10th or 11 century later it was passed to Yadavs after the Chalukyas demise.

In the 13th Century the city came under the influence of the khilji Sultanate in Delhi.

In 1347 Bijapur was taken over by the Bahami sultanate of Gulbarga.

In 1518, Bahami Sultanate was divided into 5 states known as Deccan sultanate.One of which was Bijapur.

Adil Shahi Dynasty ruled between 1490-1686.What we see today at Bijapur, I mean mostly can be attributed to Adil Shahi.

In 1686, Aurangzeb conqured Bijapur and thus ended Adil Shahi’s reign.

In 1724 Nizam of Hyderabad took over Bijapur.

In 1760 Marathas defeated Nizam of Hyderabad.

In 1818 The Maratha Peshwa was defeated by the british and Bijapur was passed on to Bristish East India Company.
Spread the Travel Bug:
Total Page Visits: 698 - Today Page Visits: 1

admin - Author

Hi, I am Aashish Chawla- The Weekend Wanderer. Weekend Wandering is my passion, I love to connect to new places and meeting new people and through my blogs, I will introduce you to some of the lesser-explored places, which may be very near you yet undiscovered...come let's wander into the wilderness of nature. Other than traveling I love writing poems.

You Might Also Like

Aashish Chawla
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial